Millions of Apple iPhone users around the world are at risk of losing their photos permanently before the end of July.
Apple has announced it will permanently remove the feature that automatically stores pictures in bad news for iPhone users around the world.
According to a report by The Mirror, photos uploaded to Apple’s My Photo Stream will be deleted forever as the feature is scheduled to shut down on July 26, 2023.
My Photo Stream is a free cloud storage system that automatically stores pictures for 30 days.
Although the feature stopped uploading photos on June 26, photos previously uploaded there will be lost when the album gets deleted on July 26.
HOW TO PREVENT LOSS OF PHOTOS
To prevent the loss of photos, iPhone, iPad and Mac users are urged to go to the My Photo Stream album and save their pictures to the library on their device.
“If a photo you want isn’t already in your library on a particular iPhone, iPad, or Mac, make sure that you save it to your library on that device,” Apple says on its support page.
Apple product users can also save their pictures to iCloud.
“iCloud Photos is the best way to keep the photos and videos you take up to date across all your devices and safely stored in iCloud,” says Apple.